A Surfing Haven Close To Manila

I am addicted to surfing lately. I had my skin burnt and had a “toasted” skin color according to my friends. I am new to this stuff and I can tell that I will be stoked for the rest of my life. I have been looking for something I can call my “hobby” and right now, I can say that this is my forever hobby. Until the day that I can do my last “paddle” and “pop-up“.

Again, I am new to surfing. I am still learning the basics and learning how to surf takes sooo much patience. More than that of love I believe. You have to really wait for a good wave and have the right timing before standing up on your board. Many times you will fall from your board, paddle more, ride less, and if you are unlucky like me, you get a souvenir of scratches and wounds every time you go home. It has been like this for the last three weeks and I’m good with that.

20130221-124321.jpg

Anyway, I write this entry to share with you a little secret about a surfing spot I recently discovered. I’m pretty sure, some, especially those surfing enthusiasts, have already heard of this place. I am talking about Liw-Liwa beach in San Felipe, Zambales. This spot is not as popular as La Union but surely the waves here are just the same as the ones you get in La Union. Good thing is, it is much closer to Manila as compared to La Union. Travel time would take around 3-4 hours. La Union would take 6-7 hours. I have talked to some people I met last weekend in Liw-Liwa and they said that this place is far better because the shore line is much longer and the beach is not crowded. The people are friendlier and very welcoming too.

Here’s the direction on how to get there.

From Caloocan, you can ride a Victory Liner bus heading to Iba, Zambales. Tell the conductor to drop you off at San Felipe. Once in San Felipe, you have to ride a tricycle going to the beach. Just tell the driver you want to go to Liw-Liwa beach or some drivers are familiar with the “port” area or simply tell them you want to surf.

20130221-124224.jpg

FARE: One way* (Just do the math)

Bus fare: Php 272
Tricycle fare: Php 30-50

20130221-125044.jpg

FOOD:

You can bring your own food or if you’re not picky, you eat at Ate Phoebe’s eatery. They serve typical Filipino foods. I haven’t seen any cafe or classy restaurants in the area. Price range are pocket friendly. You can have a good meal with your Php45.

20130221-124252.jpg

YOU WANT TO SURF? Sure!

FEES:
Instructor’s fee is Php200 per hour (a good 2 hours of surfing, I’m pretty sure, you would have your first ride.)

20130221-124333.jpg

Surfing board fee is Php200-300 per hour. Want to surf for half day? You only need to pay for Php400 and for a whole day surfing that would cost you Php800.

See? It isn’t costly to travel at all!
Live your dreams without having a nightmare of your travel expenses!

20130221-124349.jpg

Do you have any questions or comments regarding this article? Feel free to get in touch with me by leaving a comment here or you may send me an email at victoriousjay1@gmail.com. I’m also on Twitter. Please follow me @gladJAYtor. Enjoy your trip and keep safe

20130222-101647.jpg

21 thoughts on “A Surfing Haven Close To Manila

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Undiscovered Beaches in Luzon | The Traveling GladJAYtor

    • Thank you Mhea!
      I hope you enjoyed Burot beach!
      Regarding the directions to Liw-Liwa, you can click on the link provided or you may read my other blog entitled “A Surfing Haven Close To Manila.”

  2. My bad sorry, i’ve seen it na pla prior to sending you an e-mail. I was maybe surprised it wasn’t the usual bullet-ed IT style. Sorry tinamad lang. 😉 anyways.. your travel stuff are really cool! keep it up! i’ll always check your posts.

  3. hi there! it’s me again mhea, we’re off to Liw-Liwa on friday, just want to know if this is just like burot where i need to tent, doesn’t have electricity and other stuff, or in a nutshell> ADVENTURE! Please let me know as i just want to prep my self and bring stuff that are ‘a must!’ Also, will it be best to leave Caloocan on 11pm or 5am? please guide me.. Thank you so much again!

    • Hi Mhea,

      Sorry late reply. May electricity po at may mga pwedeng pag-stay-han dun. Pwede ka magstay sa Circle hostel or sa friend ko. Look for my friend Bong. Text him at 09128957953. He can also teach you how to surf. May eatery din dun. Popular place is Mommy Phoebe’s place. Mura ang food. 🙂 enjoy!

      • Hi… Do you have contact # of Mommy Phoebe?? Me and my friend is planning to go there by end of June…

  4. Hi there i’m back.. yep Kuya pat taught me to surf.. and Kuya bong taught my friend.. It was fun.. i can tell they’re good instructors ‘coz i got the balance right away (well of course 1st try always fails!)Yup got to meet Mommy Phoebe and her dog chloe. I stayed @ Mommy Phoebe’s and got 50%… It was really AWESOME! A Must for beginners!

    • Wow! I’m very happy to hear that you had a good time at Liwa. I hope it’s not your last visit. 🙂 I’ll tell Bong about your feedback when I see him this coming weekend. Magsusurf kami sa Baler eh. :))

  5. Tlga…of course it’s not gonna be my last,, nkaka addict.. mas gsto ko to kesa wakeboarding… Yeah,, say hi to kuya bong for me and kuya pat.. i think they can remember me as ung girl na mas gsto si “Surf Bum” kesa sa ibang boards. Have fun in Baler.!

    • Hahaha… Sure! Of course, surfing is way way better than wakeboarding(mechanical) no challenge. Hahahaha… You will learn a lot in surfing. Patience is one of those. 🙂

  6. Hi! Thanks for this very helpful blog. Ask ko lang if may estimated rate ka for affordable accommodation? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

