My Sidetrip To Intramuros

This trip is suppose to be joined by my office mates but I fell asleep yesterday so it was cancelled. When I asked them earlier today, they’re no longer available because of some other commitments they have.

I decided to push through this plan since I’m also going to my school in Manila to process my pending papers. Right after my epic fail appointment at school, I head right away to Intramuros. I took a bus going to Manila city hall.

Revisiting History

I have been to Intramuros several times already during my college years but I just want to take a glimpse of the “Walled City” (Intramuros’ nickname) once again. The temperature is humid but the sky is gloomy and you can feel some rain drops from time to time. I entered in Lyceum area. I couldn’t remember how this place was and it looks a bit different this time. Or maybe before I wasn’t paying much attention to the structures and I’m just becoming more appreciative this time. I passed through several old buildings and some are obviously new but were built after the old ones.

Here are some of my favorite shots:

Image

History And The Aftermath

Something has caught my attention as I continue to rediscover some other parts of the “Walled City”. Right next to the historic structures are the evidence of the current situation of our fellow Filipinos. I don’t know if they are informal settlers in this area or they have land titles but just can’t afford to have their houses fixed to make it look more presentable as the other structures.

I have one concern for this place. We all know that Intramuros could tell everything about the history of our country and that it plays a very important role in our tourism industry today. I know that these people who settle their houses inside these walls are also important as they are the ones who maintain the place, guide the tourists and make all the establishments running but the view really ruins to what suppose to be the perfect view of our history. I have nothing against the settlers as it looks hundreds of family are living here.

In my point of view, and if I may suggest to whoever handle the matter of taking care and preserving this place, they could have provided a much better structure to these people. Maybe relocate them to a nearby place or maybe put them together in one area within Intramuros. As a matter of fact, as I was walking around there was a commotion and after a few minutes the guards in one of the establishments were able to put a man on handcuff. I overheard that the man on handcuff was a “salisi gang” member. That doesn’t give a good impression to the tourists. They would think that the place is not safe.

The Mermaid With Two Tails

Anyway, as I continue to walk around and appreciate other edifice, my camera’s battery got emptied. I was running out of memory too. I ran to two different Mini-stops to get my battery charged but I was disappointed. Aside from my camera’s battery misery, I was late for Fort Santiago too. They have hours(curfew–I don’t know if this is the right term). I was losing hope already because I know there are still a lot of areas that I need to take pictures with. I gave up already, I’m defeated. I was on my way home when I saw a very familiar sign board of a coffee shop. The mermaid with two tails. I had no second thoughts of going inside. I know I have to save some money but I have to get my battery charged even if I had too much caffeine for the day, I am willing to pay. So I got in and ordered a coffee(coffee addict certified). I am thankful I stayed because I had the chance to write this blog in that coffee shop while I was charging the battery.

History Lives Forever!

I know this is not my last visit here.

A couple of thoughts on this trip:

1. History should not be forgotten.

2. Every time we go back to a certain place, we learn something new and discover new things. (Redundant?)

Charles Muntz: “Adventure is out there!” -from the movie UP

One thought on “My Sidetrip To Intramuros

Leave a Reply

